Wall of Fame—2011 Inductees

Here are the annual Wall of Fame awards, celebrating the achievements and athletes of 2011!

Junior – Larkyn Austman, A.J. Ewart and Jennifer Yang
High School – Hodson Harding, Jisoo Keel and Matt Trimble
Senior – Shawn Bowman, Jasmin Glaesser, Tory Nyhaug and Brittany Rogers
University/College – Wade MacLeod and Jackie Rothenberger
Disabled – Sean Casey
Team – the Dr. Charles Best Blue Devils senior boys soccer team
Coach – Alfonso Napoletano of Dr. Charles Best Secondary

Junior recipients: Larkyn Austman (figure skating) won gold medals at both the BC/Yukon Summerskate and BC Coast Regionals; A.J. Ewart (golf) won the BC Boys Bantam championship title at the age of 12; Jennifer Yang (golf) won the 2011 Royale Cup Canadian Girls Junior golf championship.

High school athletes: Hodson Harding (track and field) finished first in the 400 metre at Harry Jerome Indoor meet and silver (400m) and bronze (200m) at the B.C. Track and Field championships; Matt Trimble (basketball) was a key member of the Terry Fox Ravens who finished 3rd at the 2011 B.C. High School AAA championships; Jisoo Keel (golf) became the first-ever female to post the top score at the (co-ed) B.C. High School championships, leading her Gleneagle Talons to a B.C. title.

Senior athletes: Shawn Bowman (baseball) was the starting third baseman for Canada in the historic gold medal win over the U.S. at the Pan American Games; Jasmin Glaesser (cycling) was a member of Canada's women's cycling pursuit team that won gold at the Pan American Games, after winning the Canadian under-23 women's road cycling championship; Tory Nyhaug (cycling) won both the Canadian BMX elite and open championship titles, and finished 2nd at 2011 BMX European championships; Brittany Rogers (gymnastics) won silver on vault at Osikek Challenger Cup and advanced to all four finals, and was named Sport BC's Harry Jerome Comeback Award winner.

University/College athletes: Wade MacLeod (hockey) led Northeastern University in scoring with 22 goals and 23 assists in 38 games as a senior and was recognized as Hockey East second all-star team; Jackie Rothenberger (softball) was named second team Great Northwest Athletic Conference all-star, after leading Western Washington with a .344 batting average.

Disabled: Sean Casey (speed skating) won two gold medals at the Special Olympics Canada National Games and will represent Canada at the World Winter Games in Korea.

Coach: Alfonso Napoletano (soccer) coached the Dr. Charles Best Senior Soccer Team to its second straight BC 'AAA' High School Championship.
Alfonso who began the soccer program at Charles Best, motivated his players to make history at their school by winning the school's first-ever boys and girls Fraser Valley championships and provincial titles.

Team: Dr. Charles Best Senior Boys Soccer
After going 16-0 and losing in the provincial semi-finals in a penalty shoot out for two years prior, the Charles Best Blue Devils went undefeated at the BC 'AAA' High School Championships to claim its second straight provincial title. The team won 3-2 in overtime in a very entertaining and thrilling final versus North Delta Secondary

Team Roster
Brando Ciccone (captain)
Fahim Karmali (captain)
Marcus Balaski
Austin Derska
Jordan Macdonell
Luke Mason
James O'Brien
Vince Ye
Jordan Campbell
Sam Coulter
Trevor Garofano
Adam Jones
Challen Rogers
Dario Russ
Nazareno Russ
Harry Caya
Cristiano Ciccone
Giovanni Correda
Karlo Kresevljak
Luigi Polisi
Alfonso Napoletano (coach)

Fern Web Design Services