Wall of Fame 2010 Inductees

Here are the annual Wall of Fame awards, celebrating the achievements and athletes of 2010!

Disabled Athlete of the year

Matt Hallat
Matthew Hallat is currently residing in Squamish where he is the Sea-to-Sky Corridor’s only downhill Paralympian. He is a five-time Canadian National Slalom Champion and Top 10 competitor on the World Cup circuit. Matt placed 11th in the Men’s Standing Downhill and 17th in the Men’s Standing Slalom at the 2010 Paralympic Games.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Jisoo Keel
In 2010 Coquitlam’s Jisoo Keel ventured to the U.S. as a 14-year-old and recorded wins in her first two American Jr. Golf Association tour stops. She finished tied for 7th on the 2010 US Junior girls medal play, and would go on to receive a CN Future Links Girls National Order of Merit, before capping the year by being named to Golf Canada’s development squad.

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Challen Rogers
Challen Rogers provided valuable leadership for the Coquitlam midget A1 team en route to a 2010 provincial gold medal—earning the tournament’s MVP award in the process. One of Team BC’s top scorers and selected as an all-star at the box lacrosse Nationals, Challen received the U19 World Lacrosse Foundation award. He was also a key contributor to the Dr. Charles Best secondary 2010 provincial soccer champions.

High School Female Athlete of the Year

Stephanie Glover
As an athlete at Dr. Charles Best Secondary, Stephanie Glover grappled her way to the Sr. girls 57kg BC Wrestling title despite having only started wrestling four years ago! Her accomplishments include a Gold medal at the Western Canada Age Class in the juvenile girl’s 57 kg class. Quite an accomplishment for someone so new to the sport.

High School Male Athlete of the Year

Kevin Lim
Kevin Lim in 2010 was a senior at Pinetree Sr. Secondary School and a captain on the badminton team. The honour roll student played a crucial leadership role with the team, sparking them to a provincial championship title. For his performance, Kevin walked off the court as the tournament MVP.

Hodson Harding
Hodson Harding won a gold medal on behalf of Gleneagle Secondary in 2010. Hodson captured the B.C. High School Sr boys 400 meter title with a personal best time of 49.10. He was also honoured as the co-winner of the Coquitlam Cheetahs Outstanding Juvenile Male of 2010.

College/University Female Athlete of the Year

Laura-Ann Chong
Laura-Ann wrapped up her college gymnastic career in 2010 with Oregon State University. A second-team NCAA All American on the Uneven Bars and Balance Beam, Laura-Ann was the NCAA Columbia Regional champion on the Uneven Bars and Pac-10 champion on the Balance Beam. Laura-Ann is an All-Conference 1st Team on the Uneven Bars and balance beam and won a career-best 11 Individual titles over the season. Coupled with that was the distinction of being a three-time Pac-10 All Academic selection. Quite a lot to accomplish at such a young age!

College/University Male Athlete of the Year

Kyle Nielsen
Centennial Secondary alumnus Kyle Nielsen attends the University of Washington where, as a junior, he recorded the 2nd best javelin toss at the NCAA division 1 track & field Championships with a throw of 73.60 meters—but due to a tiebreaker finished third. It came on the heels of a third-place result at the Pac-10 championships. Kyle was recognized for his on-field excellence with a second straight All-American award. At the Canadian nationals, he placed third overall.

Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Kevin Reynolds
When it comes to accomplishments on ice in 2010, Kevin Reynolds was red hot. The Coquitlam skater started out the year by placing 3rd at the Canadian national championship in the Senior men’s division, 11th at the World championships, and bronze at ISU Four Continents championships. Even more amazing is the fact that he is the 1st and only Canadian male to score a triple-triple combination in competition. Kevin became the first men’s figure skater to land two quad jumps in a short program—that’s a quadruple salchow-triple toe loop combo for those scoring at home! Wow!

Coach of the Year

Curt Malawsky
Curt Malawsky was born and raised in Coquitlam. For much of his playing career, from minor to the senior A level, he wore the Adanac colours. In his first year as coach of the Coquitlam Junior Adanacs, Curt coaxed, inspired and occasionally yelled his stable of talented players to the club’s first-ever Minto Cup National Championship, beating defending champion Orangeville. The 2010 victory was a home-town win for the hometown boys.

Team of the Year

Coquitlam Junior Adanacs
The Coquitlam Junior Adanacs entered the season as favourites to win it all, but we all know favourites don’t always win in the end. With a roster composed primarily of hometown players, the 2010 Adanacs made good on their potential and hustled their way to the club’s first ever Minto Cup National Championship.