Wall of Fame 2017 Inductees

Athlete with a Disability

Brad LaForce
Brad is a multi-sport athlete, participating in Special Olympics BC programs in Coquitlam. While he is a national medalist in Speed Skating, 2017 was dedicated to Softball at the Special Olympics Provincial Games in Kamloops. Brad’s Justin Verlander-like performance at those games as a pitcher and his energetic enthusiasm earned him a place on the team heading to the 2018 National Games this July in Antigonish. Good luck Brad.

Junior Female Athlete

Cassidy Gray and Sherilyn Chung
Cassidy is a member of the Coquitlam Sharks Swim Club and this past year she set a pair of records at the BC Provincial meet in the 50 metre butterfly and 100 metre freestyle. Placing in the medals for several other events Cassidy continues to be one of the fastest fish in the pool.

Sherilyn also earned a posse of medals through speed, this time on skates. She established a remarkable pace to collect gold at the BC Short Track Speed Skating championships. She was the lone B.C. female to qualify for the Canadian junior championships. Sherilyn continues to set new personal best times so at 16 years old.

Thank you Sherilyn and Cassidy and we look forward to watching you continue to achieve sport greatness.


Jacqueline Lew and Kye Mills
Jacqueline was named the Most Outstanding female wrestler at the 2017 BC High School Championships. She won the 51 kg Provincial title and went on to win the juvenile national title. Her skills on the mat have led her around the world, and now to SFU. We know that Jacqueline’s biggest fan is accepting her award, thanks mom!

For our male High School Athlete of the year we recognize Kye Mills, who like Jacqueline represented Pinetree Secondary. He also dominated his division at the Provincial Championships last year as well topping the “War on the Floor” at SFU for 54 kg category. At the nationals Kye placed second in the 50kg. Tonight Kye is at his high school commencement so couldn’t be here.

There’s no holding Kye and Jacqueline back when it comes to wrestling. You both seem to be on the right path to maybe one day join our very own Chris Wilson in the Hall of Fame.

University/College – Male Athlete

Marcello Polisi
Marcello Polisi was instrumental in SFU men’s soccer team’s sixth conference title in eight years. He was named the 2017 GNAC Player of the Year and to the first all-star team. Marcello played an impressive 1500 minutes last year and led the clan to many victories. As we follow the 2018 World Cup and look to the future when Canada will host in 2026, we envision Marcello working hard towards that goal.

University/College – Female Athlete

Chanell Botsis
In track and field, Chanell Botsis climbed the charts on both the NCAA and national stage during an amazing 2017. In her freshman year at the University of Connecticutt, Botsis finished fifth in hammer throw at the American Outdoor track and field championships. Prior to starting her college career, the Coquitlam athlete ranked as the No. 2 Canadian under-20 for the hammerthrow.

Olivia Willett
Our other female university honouree is Simon Fraser University’s Olivia Willett, who was named the 2017 GNAC Freshman of the Year in cross country and has been an impressive part of the Clan’s winning ways. Her ninth place finish helped her team come in second at the GNAC Women’s Cross Country Championships. At the NCAA cross country championships Olivia helped SFU post an impressive 10th finish as a team.

Male University Athletes of the Year

Mathew Barzal
Mathew Barzal can’t be here tonight because he is attending the NHL awards in Las Vegas, where he won the rookie of the year. He also began 2017 by representing Canada at the World Junior championships, then led his Seattle Thunderbirds to a Western Hockey League championship title. Mathew, who we honoured here a couple of years ago in the junior category, will be a major part of the New York Islanders.

Senior Athlete of the Year – Female

Larkyn Austman
On the creative side of the ice sheet Larkyn Austman brings incredible grace and athleticism each time she reached the podium. She received a bronze medal at the Canadian National Figure Skating championships and was chosen for the Canada’s 2018 Olympic team. Her childhood dream of skating for Canada came true after enduring a lot of adversity, and en route to the Olympics Larkyn won a bronze medal at the Challenge championship in The Hague.

Masters Athlete of the Year

Elaine Whidden
As a member of the Tri-City Greyhounds track and field club, Elaine won two gold medals at the BC Masters championships and a gold, silver and 2 bronze medals at the North American-Central American-Caribbean championships. Elaine also broke Canadian records in the 4×100 and 4×400 relays with her 60+ teammates. Proving that age is just a number, Elaine continues to inspire athletes of all generations with her determination and dedication.

Volunteer of the Year

Sheila Hogan
Sheila has been an outstanding volunteer with Special Olympics BC for many years. This past year Sheila was the Team Manager for Region 3 team that consisted of 345 members for the 2017 SOBC Summer Games. She organized the travel, uniforms, the paperwork, fund raising and assisted athletes for the 2017 SOBC Summer Games. A true hero working behind the scenes to ensure all can compete.

Coach of the Year

Chris Peat
Chris has been with Coquitlam Metro Ford Soccer Club for approximately 4 years and out of those 4 years he has 2 provincial championships, league championships and in 2017 won the club’s coach of the year award. In two short years Chris helped reboot the Milennium boys team from 9 original players back up to a squad gunning for titles. He has shown great dedication to the club and the boys on the team.

2017 Team of the Year

Coquitlam Metro Ford Under 17 Boys Millennium
The Coquitlam Metro Ford Millennium won the provincial championship and a BCSPL Cup title in 2017. This is an elite level of soccer attracting the best of the best from across the country.

At the national championship tournament the Millennium battled hard and finished an impressive fourth and well as fourth at an international tournament in Las Vegas. These boys have represented their club and community with honour and dedication.


  • Aakarsh Arya
  • Kevin Brazil
  • Quintin Desaulniers
  • Samuel Enchelmaier
  • Daniel Jelenici
  • Brolin Masuhara
  • Andrew Peat
  • Brayden Rose
  • Ethan Silver
  • Jaxon Bain
  • Thomas Crozier
  • Petri du Toit
  • Harrison Fenwick
  • Cohnan Kotarski
  • Adriano Mattarollo
  • Tali Romero
  • Navid Samiei
  • Trevor Zanatta