Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2011 – Wall of Fame Inductees

June 21, 2012 8:00 am5:00 pm

COQUITLAM, BC – The Coquitlam Sports Hall of Fame is proud to recognize annual accomplishments of athletes and sports leaders in the community with its Wall of Fame 2011 honourees. These special achievers will be recognized as part of the June 21 Coquitlam Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Poirier Sport and Leisure Complex.

This year’s Wall of Fame honourees are:
Junior – Larkyn Austman, A.J. Ewart and Jennifer Yang
High School – Hodson Harding, Jisoo Keel and Matt Trimble
Senior – Shawn Bowman, Jasmin Glaesser, Tory Nyhaug and Brittany Rogers
University/College – Wade MacLeod and Jackie Rothenberger
Disabled – Sean Casey
Team – the Dr. Charles Best Blue Devils senior boys soccer team
Coach – Alfonso Napoletano of Dr. Charles Best Secondary

Junior recipients: Larkyn Austman (figure skating) won gold medals at both the BC/Yukon Summerskate and BC Coast Regionals; A.J. Ewart (golf) won the BC Boys Bantam championship title at the age of 12; Jennifer Yang (golf) won the 2011 Royale Cup Canadian Girls Junior golf championship.

High school athletes: Hodson Harding (track and field) finished first in the 400 metre at Harry Jerome Indoor meet and silver (400m) and bronze (200m) at the B.C. Track and Field championships; Matt Trimble (basketball) was a key member of the Terry Fox Ravens who finished 3rd at the 2011 B.C. High School AAA championships; Jisoo Keel (golf) became the first-ever female to post the top score at the (co-ed) B.C. High School championships, leading her Gleneagle Talons to a B.C. title.

Senior athletes: Shawn Bowman (baseball) was the starting third baseman for Canada in the historic gold medal win over the U.S. at the Pan American Games; Jasmin Glaesser (cycling) was a member of Canada’s women’s cycling pursuit team that won gold at the Pan American Games, after winning the Canadian under-23 women’s road cycling championship; Tory Nyhaug (cycling) won both the Canadian BMX elite and open championship titles, and finished 2nd at 2011 BMX European championships; Brittany Rogers (gymnastics) won silver on vault at Osikek Challenger Cup and advanced to all four finals, and was named Sport BC’s Harry Jerome Comeback Award winner.

University/College athletes: Wade MacLeod (hockey) led Northeastern University in scoring with 22 goals and 23 assists in 38 games as a senior and was recognized as Hockey East second all-star team; Jackie Rothenberger (softball) was named second team Great Northwest Athletic Conference all-star, after leading Western Washington with a .344 batting average.

Disabled: Sean Casey (speed skating) won two gold medals at the Special Olympics Canada National Games and will represent Canada at the World Winter Games in Korea.

Team: Dr. Charles Best Blue Devils (soccer) defeated North Delta in the 2010 BC Senior Boys AAA championship final.

Coach: Alfonso Napoletano (soccer) coached Dr. Charles Best Blue Devils to an overtime victory at the BC Senior Boys AAA Soccer championships.


June 21, 2012
8:00 am5:00 pm